2022 - Diane Burns

2022 - Diane Burns


Faculty Senate



Since 2007, Dr. Diane Burns has been on the Eastern Illinois University faculty in the department of Geology and Geography, serving as Chair of the department since 2017. Dr. Burns earned her M.S. and PhD from the University of Wyoming after earning her undergraduate degree at California State University, Sacramento. Her research focuses on the geology of Wyoming and of East Central Illinois. Dr. Burns has provided invaluable service to EIU and to her discipline. Between 2018 and 2022, she was the national president of Sigma Gamma Epsilon, the national honors society for Earth Science. She continues to serve as a Vice President of that organization. She has been involved in the organization of numerous conferences. At Eastern, in the 2021-2022 academic year alone she was Chair of the Council of Chairs, Chair of the Science subcommittee on the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Strategic Planning Committee, Faculty Advisor for three Recognized Student Organizations, and served on numerous other University, College, and Departmental committees. This is typical for Dr. Burns’ formal service commitments over her years at Eastern, but at least as important is her dedication to serving her students, including mentoring student research, organizing field trips, and dedicating herself to student success and well-being. Dr. Burns truly exemplifies the commitment to service inside and outside the University that the Luis Clay Mendez Distinguished Service Award is meant to honor.

Publication Date

Fall 2022

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License.

2022 - Diane Burns