Mathematics & Computer Science

Mathematics & Computer Science


Department Chair: Marshall Lassak

The EIU Department of Mathematics and Computer Science is located in Old Main on Lincoln Avenue in Charleston, Ill. The department has 24 faculty members who teach and carry out research in the fields of Algebra, Number Theory, Geometry, Topology, Dynamical Systems, Computer Science, and Mathematics Education.

Approximately 120 undergraduate majors make up our department's student body. The department encourages collaborations with other colleges and universities, industries, and other entities. Eastern Illinois University started out as a state teachers college, so the roots of the department are based in a culture of excellence in teaching with the emphasis on student learning.

The richness of educational opportunities offered in the department is based upon a long and distinguished tradition of teaching and research. EIU graduates have gone on to make extraordinary contributions as researchers, teachers and intellectual leaders in a variety of fields.

Browse the Mathematics & Computer Science Collections:

Student Honors Theses

Mathematics Open Educational Resources

Masters Theses

Faculty Research and Creative Activity