Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

Press Releases

10-28-1991

10/28/1991 - Business Faculty Establish Minority Scholarship

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "10/28/1991 - Business Faculty Establish Minority Scholarship" (1991). *Press Releases*. 1820. https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases/1820

This October is brought to you for free and open access by The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in Press Releases by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

October 28, 1991

FILE COPY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

BUSINESS FACULTY ESTABLISH MINORITY SCHOLARSHIP

CHARLESTON, IL--Six faculty in Eastern Illinois University's Lumpkin College of Business have established a scholarship for minority students in hopes of encouraging increased minority enrollment in the College.

Associate professors Al Joyner, Jyoti Prasad and Dean Elmuti, and assistant professor Christie Roszkowski, management and marketing; Yunus Kathawala, chair of computer and operations management; and Mathew Monippallil, associate professor of accounting and finance, have established the Business Faculty Scholarship Fund through the EIU Foundation.

-more-

ADD 1/1/1/1

BUSINESS FACULTY SCHOLARSHIP FUND

"We believe that maintaining a diverse student body is an important goal for the Lumpkin College of Business. While minority student enrollment at Eastern increased from 5.4 percent to 6.3 percent from 1986 to 1990, the proportion of minority students in business has declined," Kathawala said on behalf of the group.

The scholarship fund will provide one or more scholarships to qualified minority students from economically disadvantaged backgrounds.

"We hope the scholarships will serve not only as an incentive to attract qualified students to the College, but also as a vehicle for recognizing the accomplishments of those students," Kathawala added.

The six faculty members will contribute an equal amount to the scholarship fund for the next three years, allowing at least three significant scholarships of \$1,500 each to be awarded over this time period. Additional scholarships will be given if more contributions are received, Kathawala said.

Scholarship recipients will be selected by a committee from the Lumpkin College of Business.

-30-