Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

Minutes Faculty Senate

4-24-1990

April 24, 1990

Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/facsen_mins

Recommended Citation

Faculty Senate, "April 24, 1990" (1990). *Minutes*. 1549. https://thekeep.eiu.edu/facsen_mins/1549

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in Minutes by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

Faculty Senate Vol. XIX-28 // Minutes of April 24, 1990

The meeting was called to order by Tony Schaeffer at 2:10 P.M. in the Martinsville Room of the Martin Luther King Student Union.

<u>Present</u>: David Carpenter, Luis Clay-Méndez, Al DiChiara, Pat Fewell, Evelyn Goodrick, Robert Jorstad, Linda Leal, Ed Marlow, Harold Nordin, Tony Schaeffer, Ron Sutliff, Richard Sylvia, and Gary Wallace

Absent: Laurent Gosselin and Kipp Kruse

Visitors: Brett Gerber, Susan Thomas, Daily Eastern News, and John Miller

I. The minutes of the previous meeting were unanimously approved.

II. Communications:

None

III. Old Business:

A. The Retirement Reception will take place on May 2 from 2:30 to 3:30 in the 1895 room. The presentation of awards will be at 3:00.

B. Motion was made (Fewell/Sutliff) to accept the Faculty Senate election results as presented. Motion carried. The results are attached to the minutes.

C. Nordin reported on the Distinguished Faculty Award Committee: the decision has been reached and President Rives will make the announcement.

D. Fewell reported on the Affirmative Action Committee's Executive Summary on the Dual-Career Support Program. The committee seeks endorsement from the Faculty Senate, in view of its importance in today's competitive job market. Further discussion will take place after the senators have had the opportunity to review the document.

E. Motion was made (Sylvia/Marlow) to approve the 1989-90 Faculty Senate appointments to the faculty-student boards :

Commencement Committee (one member, at large)

Richard Jacques (Sp. Ed.)

Committee on Academic Computing (one member, at large, one-year term)

John Miller (Music)

Committee on Adm. and Student Info. Computing (one member, at large, one-year term)
Craig Chesner (Geol.)

Continuing Education Coordination Council (one member, at large)

Belayet H. Khan (Geol./Geog)

Council on Faculty Research (two alternates, both active Fall, 1991)

Audrey Edwards (Sec. Ed. & Foun.)

Wendy Hamand Venet (His.)

Council on University Planning and Budget (one alternate, active Fall, 1992)

Charles Blaich (Psych.)

Library Advisory Board (five alternates, all active Fall, 1992)

Marietta Deming (Health Studies)

Patrick Lenihan (Econ.)

Norbert Furumo (Chem.)

Newton Key (Hist.)

Melanie McKee (Sp.)

Affirmative Action Advisory Committee (two nominated, at large, one member chosen for three-year term)

Carol Stevens (Eng.)

Jan Marguardt-Cherry (Art-His.)

Employee Recognition Committee (two nominated, at large, one chosen for one-year term)

Keith Allred (Sp. Ed.)

Marilyn Oglesby (Mgt. Mkt.)

Apportionment Board (one alternate, at large, active Fall, 1991)

Genie Leniham (Cnslng. Cntr.)

Financial Grants (one alternate, at large, active Fall, 1991)

Susan Kaufman (Journ.)

Intercollegiate Athletics Board (three alternates, at large, active Fall, 1992)

Richard Wandling (Poli.Sci.)

Ed Marlow (Mgt.Mkt.)

Ali Moshtagh (Econ.)

Judicial Board (six active members, at large)

Barbara Poole (Poli.Sci.)

Timothy Mason (Econ.)

Priscilla Price (Phy. Ed.)

Leo Comerford (Math.)

Michael Leddy (Eng.)

Eleanor Midkiff (Psych.)

Publications Board (one alternate, at large, active Fall, 1991)

William Weber (Econ.)

Radio/TV Board (one alternate, at large, active Fall, 1991)

Susan Woods (Hlth. Stdies)

Recreational Sports Board (one active member, at large, one alternate, at large, active Fall, 1991)

Yunus Kathawala (Mgt. Mkt.), appointed member

Barbara Walker (Hith. Stdies), appointed alternate

University Union Advisory Board (one active member, at large, one alternate, at large, active Fall, 1991)

Janet Lambert (Elem. & Jr. H. Ed.), appointed member

Beth Reutter (Home Ec.), appointed alternate

F. Motion was made (Carpenter/Marlow) to go into executive session. A comparative list of salaries of faculty and administrators in the VP areas was provided by Chair Schaeffer. A table of published salaries will be attached to the minutes.

IV. New Business:

- A. Faculty Senate summer meetings have been scheduled for 2:00 on June 19 and July 17 in the Scherer room. Newly-elected senators will be invited to attend.
- B. A closer relationship between the Faculty Senate and Faculty Development was suggested by Chair Schaeffer. Barbara Haney has lost her office and a possible short-term solution might be her using the Faculty Senate's office in the Union. However, this may turn into a long-term arrangement (Marlow). It should be the VPAA's and Dean Moore's problem and we should seek their input in solving it. Bud May should be consulted also (Nordin). The fact that this is a half-time position demonstrates the low priority that Faculty Development enjoys with the Administration (Sutliff). At the next meeting, the Faculty Senate will discuss the temporary utilization of our office space and the pooling of resources, which may provide additional secretarial assistance to the Faculty Senate secretary.
- C. Brett Gerber, student-body representative, spoke about the Tuition-Freeze Rally, asking the faculty to support efforts to freeze tuition levels. Gerber has been selected as student representative to the BOG, and will welcome any suggestions that the faculty would like to see presented before the Board.
- D. DiChiara has drafted a letter expressing the vote of no-confidence in the BOG, and will present it next week.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 P.M. The next Senate meeting will be May 1, at 2:00 P.M. in the Casey Room. Please note change of room.

Respectfully Submitted, Luis Clay-Méndez