Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

Minutes Faculty Senate

2-13-1990

February 13, 1990

Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/facsen_mins

Recommended Citation

Faculty Senate, "February 13, 1990" (1990). *Minutes*. 1540. https://thekeep.eiu.edu/facsen_mins/1540

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in Minutes by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

Faculty Senate Vol. XIX-19 Minutes of February 13, 1990

The meeting was called to order by Tony Schaeffer at 2:06 P.M. in the Martinsville Room of the Martin Luther King Student Union.

<u>Present</u>: David Carpenter, Luis Clay-Méndez, Pat Fewell, Laurent Gosselin, Evelyn Goodrick, Robert Jorstad, Kipp Kruse, Linda Leal, Ed Marlow, Harold Nordin, Tony Schaeffer, Ron Sutliff, and Gary Wallace

Absent: Al DiChiara and Richard Sylvia

Visitors: Phillip Laird, Daily Eastern News, Lewis Coon, David Dutler, and John Miller

I. Minutes of the previous meeting were unanimously approved as amended: Under A, 2, the correct spelling is "oxymoron."

II. Communications:

- A. Letter from Barbara Haney, re: Welcoming Manual
- B. Memo from Garret De Ruiter, re: Clarification of 1-30-90 minutes.
- C. 1990 Committee on the Study of Undergraduate Education from the BHE, through Robert Kindrick
 - D. Phone call from Daniel Thornburgh, re: Conditions on scholarships
 - E. Memo from Sam Taber, re: Proposed '91-'92 Academic Calendar

III. Old Business:

- A. Linda Leal will be replacing Robert Barford in the Senate while he is on leave and Floyd Merritt will assume Chris McCormick's UPC duties for the remainder of the semester
- B. Gratitude was expressed to Wanda Reid and Scott, Foresman Publishers for providing a copy of Robert Rules of Order
- C. Whereas the BOG deadline for the Graduate Study Review is July 1, 1991, the time line for EIU calls for completion and report by January 1, 1991.
- D. According to Thornburgh, scholarship guidelines are a matter between students and the Foundation. Names involved should not be discussed in open meetings.
 - E. Allen Davis and Harold Nordin have been selected to serve on the Traffic Committee
- F. 1) Motion was made (Carpenter/Kruse) to not make any further appointments to the Recreational Sports Board. Dutler spoke on behalf of the Board and explained problems in the past securing student participation and establishing continuity. But the Board has been meeting regularly. Motion was defeated. Dutler was asked to provide the Senate with copy of minutes of future meetings. 2) Motion was made (Jorstad/Carpenter) to not make any further appointments to the Insurance Committee. Motion carried with one abstention. 3) Motion was made (Carpenter/Kruse) to not make any further appointments to the Performing/Visual Arts Board. Motion carried with one abstention. 4) Motion was made (Carpenter/Clay Méndez) to not make any further appointments to the Traffic Safety Board. Motion carried unanimously. 5) Motion was made (Carpenter/Wallace) to not make any further appointments to the Health Service Board. Motion carried with one abstention. In the event that any of the above committees begin to function again, the Senate will consider appointing faculty members to serve on them.
- G. Motion was made (Gosselin/Carpenter) to seek ways to allow the Senate to appoint two at-large faculty members to the Environmental Health and Safety Committee. These would be in addition to other appointees. Motion carried unanimously.
- H. Schaeffer read a definition of Faculty Senate's role. Motion was made (Kruse/Wallace) to add the following: "Visitors are encouraged to attent meetings." Motion carried unanimously.

H. Additional Faculty Senate appointments are as follows:

Intercollegiate Athletic Board: 3 alternates needed Library Advisory Board: 5 alternates needed Council on Faculty Research: 2 alternates needed

Publications Board: 1 alternate needed

University Union Advisory Board: 1 alternate needed

Apportionment Board: 1 alternate needed Financial Grants: 1 alternate needed Radio/TV Board: 1 alternate needed Judicial Board: 1 alternate needed

Continuing Education Coordinating Council: 1 member, 3-yr. term

Commencement Committee: 1 appointment, 3-yr. term

Computing Committees: number unknown, see the proposal below

For the following, the Senate will make recommendations from which one will be chosen to serve:

Affirmative Action Advisory Committee: 2 recommendations, one chosen for a 3-yr term Employee Recognition Committee: 2 recommendations, one chosen for a 1-yr term

I. Motion concerning CAA composition will remain on the table, as there is no sufficient time to act upon it before the Spring faculty elections, on April 2. However, there is a strong possibility that a referendum can be held at that time. Motion concerning a comprehensive assessment in 2-3 years, will remain on table and will be discussed at next week's meeting.

IV. New Business:

Motion was made (Kruse/Fewell) to include in the minutes the following proposal--to be discussed next week--brought by Marlow at the request of several faculty members:

Computer Committee Proposal

1. That the Faculty Senate recommend that the Committee on Academic Computing be increased to have six faculty members rather than the present four. Three of these would be appointed to by CAA, COTE, and CGS as they are presently. These members would serve a one-year appointment.

The other three would be appointed by the Faculty Senate and would have interleaved three-year appointments. One of these (the senior member) would also serve on the University Committee on Computing.

2. That the Faculty Senate create a Committee on Computers in Instruction and Research (CCIR). This committee would consist of between four and six faculty members and two or three students. There would need to be overlap between CAC and CCIR, because the point of the CCIR is to allow an open, supportive forum for faculty and students to discuss possible computing ideas. As these ideas are distilled into coherent proposals, they would be brought forward to the CAC.

The faculty members of this committee would also serve three-year terms, and, at minimum, the chair of this committee should be a member of CAC. At least one of the faculty members should be appointed by the Council on Faculty Research. One of the students should be a graduate student.

This committee might be best created as a standing committee of the CAC. This structure would guarantee communications between it and the CAC.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:40 P.M. The next Senate meeting will be February 20, at 2:00 P.M. in the Martinsville Room.

Respectfully Submitted, Luis Clay-Méndez