Eastern Illinois University The Keep

Press Releases

5-2-1991

05/02/1991 - Warner scholarships awarded

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press releases

Recommended Citation

 $\label{lem:communications} University\ Marketing\ and\ Communications, "05/02/1991 - Warner\ scholarships\ awarded"\ (1991).\ Press\ Releases.\ 1534.$ $http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases/1534$

This May is brought to you for free and open access by The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in Press Releases by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.



ART TATE, Assistant Director, University Relations Office: (217) 581-5983 - Home: (217) 348-7553

91-186

May 2, 1991



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

WARNER SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDED

CHARLESTON, IL--Twenty-two Eastern Illinois University students were recently presented Errett and Mazie Warner Presidential Awards at a ceremony where the late Mr. Warner of Lawrenceville, a 1925 Eastern graduate, was remembered by family, friends and students.

The scholarships are awarded to outstanding juniors, seniors, and graduate students in 17 different academic areas. The endowment which Mr. Warner created has made possible 206 scholarships for Eastern students.

The bequest from his estate provided more than \$750,000 in cash and farm land, the earnings of which fund the annual awards. It is the second largest monetary scholarship provided through the University Foundation.

Those receiving Warner scholarships this year from Charleston are Matthew McDevitt, athletics, and Stuart Tart, journalism. Other recipients include Douglas Miller, Onarga, and Joan Dieter, Clifton, botany; Evelyn Underwood, Urbana, educational administration; Ann Marie Murray, Countryside, elementary education; Nancy Holschuh, Palatine, English; Jeffrey Bushur, Stewardson, environmental biology; Steven DiNaso and Michael O'Keeffe, Oak Lawn, geology/geography; Jill Volk, Bloomington, higher education; and Mary E. Willwerth, Arlington Heights, and Jeffrey Schoonover, Louisville, history.

Also awarded scholarships were Candice Hoffman, Brookfield, journalism; Linda Barrett, Chrisman, library science; Krista Campbell, Robinson, and Jason Lyle Smith, Watseka, mathematics; Amy Bruce, Salem, music; Theodore Delis, Villa Park, physical education; Suzanne Dennis, Newman, pre-legal studies; Aaron Boals, Naperville, pre-medicine; and Stacey Thompson, Shelby-ville, zoology.