Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

1992 Press Releases

6-1-1992

06/01/1992 - Chemistry Contest Winners Announced

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1992

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "06/01/1992 - Chemistry Contest Winners Announced" (1992). 1992. 466.

https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1992/466

This June is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1992 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

CHEMISTRY CONTEST WINNERS ANNOUNCED

CHARLESTON, IL--A team representing Tuscola High School placed first in the 17th Annual High School Chemistry Contest held recently at Eastern Illinois University and sponsored by the EIU chemistry department. Tuscola was also the first place winner in the 1991 competition.

Other teams finishing in the top five were Georgetown-Ridge Farm High School, Neoga High School, Newton Community High School, and Lovington High School finishing second, third, fourth, and fifth respectively.

Maurice Shepherd, associate professor of chemistry at Eastern, presented the Tuscola team, again led by chemistry teacher Kay Kleiss, a traveling trophy for their victory over the other schools in this year's competition. He also recognized the other teams and the top five individual students on the test.

ADD 1/1/1/1 CHEMISTRY CONTEST

The top five individuals in the competition were: Heidi Gaddey, Tuscola High School, first place; Jason McCool, Georgetown-Ridge Farm High School; Doug Creviston, Lovington High School; Beth Long, Newton Community High School; and Mark Monahan, Arcola High School finishing second, third, fourth, and fifth, respectively.

-30-

NOTE TO THE EDITOR (Journal Gazette): Pictured below with their coach and chemistry teacher Phil Zimmer (right) are the members of the Neoga High School team. From the left they are Brian Fritts, Brian Drum, Craig Easton, Joe Sudkamp and Patrick Toops.

