Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

1984 Press Releases

3-5-1984

03/05/1984 - Toni Collins Named to All-Gateway Collegiate Conference Team

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1984

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "03/05/1984 - Toni Collins Named to All-Gateway Collegiate Conference Team" (1984). *1984*. 444.

https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1984/444

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1984 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.



Panther Sports News

EASTERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY, Charleston, IL 61920

DAVID KIDWELL, Sports Information Director OFFICE: (217) 581-2920

HOME: (217) 345-4166

March 5, 1984 LS-AS-Women's BB 109

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CHARLESTON, IL--Eastern Illinois University's outstanding junior forward Toni Collins (Lincoln-Jamaica-Sidell) has been named to the 1983-84 All-Gateway Collegiate Conference team.

"Toni's athletic and academic excellence exemplify our program," EIU head coach Bobbie Hilke said. "She's done a great job for us during the conference season and this is a great honor for her."

Collins, a Region IV All-Academic selection and a member of the inaugural All-GCAC team last season, has led the Lady Panthers in scoring for the entire season and currently holds a 13.9-point average. She also leads the team in assists and trails teammate Chris Aldridge (Taylorville) by one rebound for the team leadership in that category.

"Toni is very much a team player," Hilke said. "I also think it's a credit to the rest of our team that Toni is able to get such an award. If they weren't doing their jobs, opponents could key only on her and stop her."

Collins is joined on the All-Conference team by six other choices from last season's team--Drake's Lorri Bauman, Wanda Ford and Kay Riek, Bradley's Judy Burns, Southern Illinois' Char Warring and Wichita State's Lisa Hodgson.

Players being named to the All-GCAC team for the first time include Jeanette Tendai of Southwest Missouri, Kelle Lindbeck of Western Illinois and D. D. Plab of Southern Illinois.

Five players were named honorable mention, including Cathy Beesley and Marla Maupin of Illinois State, Petra Jackson and Connie Price of Southern Illinois and Amy Hile of Indiana State.

In addition, Hile was chosen Gateway Rookie of the Year.