Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

1992

Press Releases

3-30-1992

03/30/1992 - Mock Trial Association Recognizes Leigh

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1992

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "03/30/1992 - Mock Trial Association Recognizes Leigh" (1992). *1992*. 365. https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1992/365

This March is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1992 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

March 30, 1992

FILE COPY

92-100

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

MOCK TRIAL ASSOCIATION RECOGNIZES LEIGH

CHARLESTON, IL--Peter R. Leigh of Charleston, chair of prelegal studies and educator/coach of the mock trial teams at Eastern Illinois University, has received national recognition for his contributions to law-related education.

He has been presented the American Mock Trial Association's (AMTA) Congressman Neal Smith Award for his efforts to promote public understanding of the law and the legal process. He also has been elected to serve on the AMTA board of directors.

-more-

ADD 1/1/1/1

LEIGH AWARD

Leigh is only the second individual to receive the award, which is given to an educator/coach at the annual National Mock Trial competition in Des Moines, Iowa.

Leigh, an EIU political science faculty member for 23 years, said the award "truly represents the accomplishments of 120 Eastern students and 50 area lawyers and judges who have served as volunteer coaches for the teams over the past eight years."

Leigh said he and his teams "really appreciate the extra work by local attorneys throughout the years."

Mark Novak and Susan Wambach from the Coles County State's Attorney's Office are this year's attorney coaches for Eastern's mock trial teams.

One of Eastern's two mock trial teams that competed against 50 other teams in national mock trial competition placed 15th overall. Participating schools included Notre Dame, the University of Illinois, Georgetown, Northwestern, and the Air Force Academy.

-30-