Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

Press Releases

5-19-1990

05/19/1990 - Warner Scholars Honored

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "05/19/1990 - Warner Scholars Honored" (1990). *Press Releases*. 63.

https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases/63

This May is brought to you for free and open access by The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in Press Releases by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

ART TATE, Assistant Director, University Relations Office: (217) 581-5983 - Home: (217) 348-7553

89-200

April 19, 1989

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

WARNER SCHOLARS HONORED

CHARLESTON, IL--Scholarships to 17 Eastern Illinois University students were recently presented by Errett Warner, Lawrenceville, a 1925 EIU graduate.

Known as the Errett and Mazie Warner Presidential Awards, the scholarships are awarded to outstanding juniors, seniors, and graduate students in 17 different academic areas. Since their inception in 1977, the awards have gone to 167 Eastern students.

The scholarships were presented at the annual Warner dinner of the EIU Foundation by Mr. Warner and Dr. Stanley G. Rives, EIU President. The annual grants are funded by an endowment created in 1977 by Mr. Warner that now has a value of more than \$125,000. This year's awards totaled \$7,800.

ADD 1/1/1/1 WARNER SCHOLARS

The 90-year-old Lawrenceville alumnus was praised by Rives for his philanthropy. "Mr. Warner has been honored many ways by his university for his achievements and support of our Foundation, but at this annual dinner he stands here as an inspiration to the young scholars to do their best to pursue laudable goals. The Warner scholars have become physicians, engineers, lawyers, and teachers. I am sure those honored today will do as well," Rives said.

Those receiving Warner scholarships this year are: Jonathan
Bates, Charleston, athletics; Sue Bostetter, Kenosha, Wis., higher
education; Mark Conolly, Hoopston, educational administration; Melody
Crickman, Findlay, journalism; Brett Allen Hering, Bone Gap, zoology;
James Dean Jones, Decatur, mathematics.

Also, Michelle Lelito, Waconda, physical education; William R. Miller, East Alton, pre-legal studies; Blair S. Nuccio, Summit, music; Rodger Patience, O'Fallon, English; Karen Penn, Decatur, library science; Lisa Pomizal, Chillicothe, elementary education; Karen T. Puharich, Naperville, botany; Larry M. Sapetti, Kincaid, pre-medicine; Elizabeth A. Schwartz, Edwardsville, geography/geology; Michael Robert Sloat, Centralia, history; and Dana Marie Wood, Clinton, environmental biology.