Eastern Illinois University The Keep

1999 Press Releases

2-23-1999

02/23/1999 - Honorary Degree Nominations Being Accepted.pdf

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press releases 1999

Recommended Citation

 $\label{lem:continuous} University\ Marketing\ and\ Communications,\ "02/23/1999 - Honorary\ Degree\ Nominations\ Being\ Accepted.pdf"\ (1999).\ 1999.\ 50.$ $http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1999/50$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1999 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

99-54 February 23, 1999

For Immediate Release:

HONORARY DEGREE NOMINATIONS BEING ACCEPTED

CHARLESTON -- Community members, as well as faculty, staff, students and alumni, are encouraged to submit nominations for honorary degrees to be awarded by Eastern Illinois University in May 1999.

Honorary degrees may be awarded to persons who have achieved a record of major distinction at the state and/or national level in such areas as education, public service, research, humanities, business or the professions, or, in exceptional circumstances, those who have made an especially outstanding/significant contribution to the university or higher education even though they have not achieved national/statewide recognition.

Elected or appointed public officials in state/local government,
members/employees of Eastern's Board of Trustees, and members and employees of

--more--

the Illinois Board of Higher Education are ineligible for award of an honorary degree during their term of office/employment.

Nomination material/information may be obtained by contacting Kaye Woodward, chair, Honorary Degree Committee, at 581-5618. The deadline for all nomination forms and supporting materials is April 15.

Past honorary degree recipients include Robert Ingram, Newton E. Tarble, Richard A. Lumpkin, J. Ray Livesay, Helen Douglas Hart, Burl Ives, Quincy V. Doudna, Celeste Holm, Hazel Watson, Gwendolyn Brooks, William C. Warfield, Thelma Keller and Joan Embery.