Eastern Illinois University The Keep

2006 Press Releases

1-18-2006

01/18/2006 - Application Deadline for Education Scholarships.pdf

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press releases 2006

Recommended Citation

 $University\ Marketing\ and\ Communications, "01/18/2006 - Application\ Deadline\ for\ Education\ Scholarships.pdf"\ (2006).\ 2006.\ 32.$ $http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_2006/32$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2006 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

06-14

January 18, 2006

For Immediate Release:

APPLICATION DEADLINE DRAWS NEAR FOR EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIPS AT EIU

CHARLESTON -- Education majors at Eastern Illinois University may apply this spring for 21 scholarships collectively worth more than \$20,000.

The scholarships are to be awarded to students in EIU's Department of Early Childhood, Elementary and Middle Level Education.

The deadline for submission of applications is 4 p.m. March 1. Recipients will be honored at a ceremony on April 21.

Application forms are available on campus in the Early Childhood, Elementary and Middle Level Education Office, Buzzard Hall, Room 2220, and online at http://www.eiu.edu/~eemedu/resources.html.

Available scholarships and their requirements are listed below. Class status (freshman, etc.) refers to a student's status as of December 2005.

For information, call 581-5728 or e-mail cfdjc@eiu.edu.

- The Carol Schnick Coyle Scholarship is awarded to a full-time elementary education major with a 3.0 grade point average. Financial need is a consideration.
- The Nelle C. Hutchason Scholarship is awarded to an elementary education major who
 is dedicated to teaching and has high spiritual values. Financial need is considered.
- The Minnie Alice Phillips Scholarship is awarded to a junior early childhood or elementary education major who plans to teach kindergarten through fourth grades.
- The Reading Council Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior early childhood, elementary or middle level education major who is dedicated to teaching and has demonstrated outstanding character. The recipient must show financial need, have a GPA of at least 3.0, be a member of the council and be present to receive the award at the Reading Council meeting.

- The Telefund Scholarships are awarded to junior early childhood, elementary and middle level education majors with a GPA of at least 3.0. Financial need must be shown.
- The Errett and Mazie Warner Scholarships are awarded to junior or senior elementary or middle level education majors who demonstrate outstanding character and who hold a GPA of at least 3.0. Financial need is considered.
- The Mary K. Moore Scholarship is awarded to an early childhood education major who demonstrates good character and has proven outstanding academic achievement.
- The Ronald A. Wilson Scholarship is awarded to an early childhood, elementary or middle level education major who resides in Illinois.
- The Waunetah D. Buckler Scholarship is awarded to a full-time freshman elementary
 education major. Academic performance and/or financial need are primary
 considerations. The recipient will receive the award in three equal installments in the fall
 of his/her sophomore, junior and senior years; good academic standing is required each
 year.
- The Mary Lou Gaskill Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior early childhood, elementary or middle level education major with a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Financial need is a consideration.
- The John Kelley Scholarship is awarded to a full-time freshman elementary education major with a GPA of at least 2.0 and who plans to teach art. Financial need must be shown.
- The Joseph E. and Gloria S. Seiler Scholarship is awarded to a sophomore, junior or senior early childhood, elementary or middle level education major with a GPA of at least 2.75. Evidence of community or church volunteer work must be shown. Preference will be given to the child of a minister.

The following scholarships give preference to, or are limited to, residents of specific areas or graduates of specific schools.

- The Coles-Douglas Scholarship is awarded to an elementary education major, with a GPA of 3.0 or higher, who is a resident of <u>Coles or Douglas counties</u>.
- The Martha and Vernice Clark Scholarship is awarded to a full-time sophomore, junior
 or senior elementary education major who resides in <u>Crawford County</u>.
- The Ellen Cutright Decker Scholarship is awarded to a junior elementary education major who is a resident of the Cumberland or Casey-Westfield high school districts.

- The Thomas and Gail Higgins Scholarship is awarded to a junior elementary or middle level education major who is a graduate of Charleston High School.
- The Lottie Leach Leeds Scholarship is awarded to a junior early childhood/elementary
 education major, dedicated to teaching kindergarten through fourth grade, and who has
 demonstrated outstanding character and conduct. The recipient must be an <u>Illinois</u>
 resident. Financial need is a consideration.
- The William and Waneta Sedgwick Catey Scholarships are awarded to junior or senior early childhood, elementary or middle level education majors with a GPA of at least 3.0. Each recipient must be a graduate of <u>Cumberland or Clark County high schools</u>; preference will be given to graduates of Casey-Westfield High School. Recipients must show financial need and evidence of community service or volunteer activities. A letter of recommendation supporting the moral character of the applicant must be submitted.
- The Charles and Barbara Clark Scholarship is awarded to a full-time early education, elementary or middle level education major. Financial need is considered. Preference is given to graduates of <u>Decatur High School and then to students from Macon County.</u>
- The Bryan and Adra Heise Scholarship is awarded to an early childhood, elementary
 or middle level education major. Financial need is considered. Preference is given to
 graduates of <u>Decatur High School and then to students from Macon County.</u>
- The Bertha G. Hoedebecke Scholarships are awarded to a full-time elementary education major with a 3.0 or higher GPA. Preference is given first to graduates of <u>Hillsboro Community High School and then to students from Montgomery County.</u>

-30-

NOTE TO EDITORS: Anyone wishing to have this release e-mailed to them should contact Vicki Woodard, (217) 581-7649, vwoodard@eiu.edu.