Eastern Illinois University The Keep

2001 Press Releases

1-29-2001

01/29/2001 - Twenty Four High Schools to Participate in EIU Scholastic Bowl Tourney.pdf

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press releases 2001

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "01/29/2001 - Twenty Four High Schools to Participate in EIU Scholastic Bowl Tourney.pdf" (2001). 2001. 25.

http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_2001/25

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2001 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

01-19 January 29, 2001

For Immediate Release:

TWENTY-FOUR HIGH SCHOOLS TO PARTICIPATE IN EIU SCHOLASTIC BOWL TOURNEY

CHARLESTON -- Eastern Illinois University's Honors Programs will host their 16th annual Scholastic Bowl Tournament Saturday, Feb. 3, with nearly 25 area high schools participating.

The event will begin at 8:30 a.m. with opening remarks and greetings from Herbert Lasky, Honors Programs director. Matches will take place on the second floor of Coleman Hall, located at Fourth and Garfield.

All teams will be guaranteed at least three matches in this round-robin tournament. Winners from each bracket advance to the five championship rounds scheduled to begin at 12:15 p.m.

At approximately 4 p.m., the awards ceremony will begin in Lumpkin Hall (located immediately east of Coleman Hall), Room 122. Trophies will be presented to the top seven teams, while medallions will be awarded to members of the "All-Tournament Team," consisting of the five players who score the most points in the first three rounds of the tournament.

The following high schools will participate: Casey-Westfield, Central A & M (Moweaqua/ Assumption), Charleston, Cumberland (Greenup/Toledo), East Richland (Olney), Edwards County (Albion), Fairfield, Flora, Georgetown-Ridgefarm, Hutsonville, Meridian (Macon), Mt. Carmel, Newton, Oakland, Oblong, Paris, Robinson, Salem, St. Anthony (Effingham), St. Elmo, St. Theresa (Decatur), Sullivan, Taylorville and Teutopolis.

The public is invited to attend this free event.