Eastern Illinois University The Keep

2003 Press Releases

1-31-2003

01/31/2003 - Twenty Four Area High Schools To Compete In EIU Scholar Bowl Tourney.pdf

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press releases 2003

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "01/31/2003 - Twenty Four Area High Schools To Compete In EIU Scholar Bowl Tourney.pdf" (2003). 2003. 5.

http://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_2003/5

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2003 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.



NEWS

Contact: Vicki Woodard (csvns@eiu.edu)

Melinda Matthews (csmem2@eiu.edu)

217-581-7650

217-581-8444 (fax)

Office of Media Relations 600 Lincoln Avenue Room 2142 Old Main Charleston, IL 61920-3099 (www.eiu.edu/~pubaff/omr.htm)

03-22

January 31, 2003

For Immediate Release:

TWENTY-FOUR AREA HIGH SCHOOLS TO COMPETE IN EIU SCHOLAR BOWL TOURNEY

CHARLESTON – The Eastern Illinois University Honors Programs will hold its 18th annual Scholastic Bowl Tournament Saturday, Feb. 1, on the second floor of Coleman Hall.

The tournament will begin at 8:30 a.m., with opening remarks and greetings from Herbert Lasky, Honors Programs director.

The round-robin tournament consists of 24 high school teams from the surrounding area that compete in head-to-head competition. All teams are guaranteed at least three matches. Winners from each bracket advance to the five championship rounds scheduled to start at 12:15 p.m.

At approximately 4 p.m., an awards ceremony will begin in Lumpkin Auditorium, room 2030. Trophies will be given to the top seven teams, while medallions will be awarded to individuals named to the All-Tournament Team. (That team will consist of the five players who score the most points in the first three rounds of the tournament.)

The following area high schools plan to participate: Casey-Westfield, Charleston, Cumberland, East Richland, Edwards County, Effingham, Fairfield, Flora, Georgetown-Ridgefarm, Hutsonville, Meridian, Mt. Carmel, Newton, Oakland, Oblong, Paris, Robinson, Salem, St. Anthony, St. Elmo, St. Theresa, Sullivan, Taylorville and Teutopolis.

Everyone is welcome to attend.